The Federation of State Humanities Councils and the National Humanities Alliance are pleased to announce the 2022 National Humanities Conference Equitable Access grant recipients. This program has been made possible with support from the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH).

These 15 grants reimburse travel, lodging, and registration expenses relating to the National Humanities Conference for U.S.-based humanities students and humanities professionals and scholars from a range of organizations such as state humanities councils, community colleges, four-year colleges, universities, museums, and community organizations. Applications were particularly encouraged from individuals from marginalized populations and communities previously underrepresented at the National Humanities Conference.

At the National Humanities Conference, this cohort will gather to get to know one another, network with conference attendees, and meet with senior staff from the NEH.

This year’s recipients are:

Rachel Barber
Composition Instructor
Rutgers University-Camden

Dr. Martha Bouyer
Executive Director
Historic Bethel Baptist Church Community Restoration Fund

Bryan Izac Cantero
Ph.D. Student of Chicana/o and Central American Studies

Samantha Gove
Student Coordinator
UConn Native American Cultural Programs

Chloe Huh Prudente
Research Assistant, Center for the Humanities at Temple (CHAT)
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of Spanish and Portuguese at Temple University

Phoebe Kiekhofer
Program Manager
Reading Partners

Betsy Lopez
Marketing Coordinator
Colorado Humanities

Maya Noto
Marketing and Programs Assistant
Arizona Humanities

Mosunmola Regina Ogunmolaji
Ph.D. Student (Graduate Teaching Assistant), Department of History
University of Florida

Motunrayo Ogunrinbokun
Ph.D. Student
University of Florida

Jill Peterfeso, Ph.D.
Eli Franklin Craven and Minnie Phipps Craven Associate Professor of Religious Studies
Guilford College

Dr. Gabriela E. Romero
Department Head and Professor of Spanish
Lindenwood University

Oliver A. Rosales, Ph.D.
Professor of History
Bakersfield College Delano Campus
Board Chair, California Humanities

Connie Siebold
Ph.D. Student Ambassador
University of Maryland College Park

Nicole Welk-Joerger, Ph.D.
Deputy Director, Center for 21st Century Studies
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Any views, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed by these recipients do not necessarily represent those of the National Endowment for the Humanities.