The call for 2023 nominations will be posted in Spring/Summer 2023. To receive notification that the nominations are open, make sure you are subscribed to the Federation’s Monthly Update.

Congratulations to the Hawai’i Council for the Humanities and Oklahoma Humanities on their 2022 Schwartz Prize awards!

Representatives from the Hawai’i Council for the Humanities and Oklahoma Humanities pose with their awards alongside Federation President, Phoebe Stein, and Schwartz Prize emcee, Bruce Sievers. Read our press release for details.

About the Prize

The Schwartz Prize was established by Helen and Martin Schwartz in the early 1980s and was designed to bring recognition to outstanding public humanities programs. An outside panel of judges, typically selected from council board members, executive directors, and program officers who have recently won Schwartz Prizes, is appointed to review and judge the Prize nominations. Up to three councils are awarded the Schwartz Prize every year in a special ceremony at the National Humanities Conference. The first prize was awarded to the Rhode Island Committee for the Humanities (now the Rhode Island Council for the Humanities) in 1982 for their project: “The Trinity Humanities Series: The Dramatic Work as a Historical, Cultural Document.”

Helen and Martin Schwartz


Our most commonly answered questions can be found by clicking the FAQs button below. Additional inquiries can be sent to Kennedy McAlister at

Past Winners

Click images to view nominating statements


Hawai’i Council for the Humanities – “Why It Matters: Civic and Electoral Participation”

Oklahoma Humanities – “Tulsa Race Massacre Centennial Commemoration Initiative”


Minnesota Humanities Center – “How Can We Breathe”

Nevada Humanities – “Humanities Heart to Heart”


Scwartz Prize for 2019 Programming

California Humanities – “Library Innovation Lab” | Vermont Humanities – “Vermont Reads 2019: March: Book One

Schwartz Prize for Rapid Response, COVID-19 Programming

Humanities Washington – “Cabin Fever Questions” | Humanities Texas – “Teacher Professional Development Programs”


Humanities Guåhan – “Taking Root: Growing Youth Empowerment for Island Sustainability”

Ohio Humanities – “Not Far From Me: Stories of Opioids and Ohio”


Mississippi Humanities – “Racial Equity Grant Program”

Oregon Humanities – “This Land”

Mississippi Humanities 2018 Nominee
Oregon Humanities 2018 Nominee


Indiana Humanities – “Next Indiana Campfires”